Honeysuckle Jelly

Ah, the sweet, heady scents of Spring! Travel the Tennessee back roads this time of year with the windows down and you’ll be struck with one flowery scent in particular- the heavenly whiff of honeysuckle blossoms. They grace fence rows and tree stumps, climb trees and garden arbors. And they’re not just for show and smell. This much beloved little wild flower makes a delicious little jelly, too!

My hubby had asked me to find someone who sold kudzu jelly because he wanted to get a jar for a friend.  While hunting around online, I found a retailer that offered honeysuckle. Having always wanted to try flower jelly, I decided I would tackle it, with the help of my family. After all, picking and de-stemming a gallon of the tiny little flowers is not a feat one person should undertake!

Luckily, I knew just where to find them! They’re all over my sister Sue’s land. We picked a gallon of flowers and tried to keep them mainly the very ripe ones, bright yellow and fragrant. We trimmed the green ends and tossed any that were dry or browning around the edges. Next we poured a gallon of boiling water over the bowl of blossoms and stirred. We covered the bowl with plastic wrap and sat it in the fridge. It sat and steeped for nearly 4 days. Then we made jelly.

There are a lot of recipes for flower jellies online. And several for honeysuckle blossom jelly. They conflict greatly in the measurements and in the way of preparation. I did my own thing, as I usually do. Keep in mind I have been making jellies since I was tall enough to reach the stove to help my mama. I also have a big ole bunch of ribbons from when I used to put them in the local county fair. So, I wasn’t just taking a wild guess here. I had an idea how it would work.

Honeysuckle Blossom Jelly~

4 cups honeysuckle blossoms

4 cups boiling water

1 box pectin

2 generous teaspoons lemon juice

5 cups sugar

Start with equal measurements of blossoms and boiling water. You’ll need at least 4 cups of lightly compressed flowers for a batch. Pour boiling water over flowers and allow to steep at least overnight. Keep the mixture in the ‘fridge and use it within one week. Drain the liquid from the flowers using a coffee filter. It will look greenish and yucky to start. Don’t worry, it will turn out pretty. Measure liquid needed, add to large pot with boxed pectin and lemon juice. Bring to a boil, then add sugar. Bring to a boil again, boil for a minute and a half to 2 minutes. Remove any skim on top. Ladle immediately into hot, sanitized jars. Add caps and rings. Process in boiling water bath for 5 minutes, if desired.

The color was even better than I had hoped (after reading that some people got green tinted jelly from their recipes). The color is natural, no food coloring added. It looks and tastes like Spring sunshine! I have to say I enjoyed the prep process as much as I’ll enjoy the jelly. The smells in every step of the way was delightful!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Honeysuckle Jelly

  1. CJ Hicks says:

    Sounds delish! I’ll try a vegetarian version of your recipe. I’ll keep you posted!

  2. sccliving says:

    I made honeysuckle syrup today and have a batch of tea brewing for jelly tomorrow. I added some rose petals as well, as my roses are going crazy right now.
    Yours look amazing! Hope mine turn out so well!

    • lisamays says:

      OOOoooh! How do you make honeysuckle syrup? Sounds yummy!

      • sccliving says:

        It’s so easy! Just make a good strong honeysuckle tea by steeping the flowers in water for several days in the sunlight. Strain out the flowers and pour your tea into a deep sauce pan. Add equal parts sugar as your tea and boil, stirring constantly, until it reduces by about half and coats the back of a spoon when dipped. Pour into a mason jar and store in fridge, or process in hot water bath for 15 minutes and store in pantry until ready to use.
        We have a bunch of this from last year and it is SOOOO good on pancakes and in yogurt.

  3. Teresa says:

    When you say “measure liquid needed” are you referring to complete jars are how does one find the amount needed?

    • lisamays says:

      Hi Teresa,

      I was referring to the amount of liquid called for in the pectin packet brand used. I used the amount in a SureJell dry mix for their mint (and other herb) jelly.

  4. Debbie A says:

    Could you freeze or dry the blooms until you have gathered enough? I have one vine but not sure that it would give me a gallon of blooms at one time.

    • lisamays says:

      Debbie,

      I think storing them in the freezer would work since it’s the oils inside the blossoms that are needed and they shouldn’t dry out much when frozen. Only way to be sure is to try it!

Leave a comment