Caramel Banana Tart

banana 003 (2)

I think I must have been born a monkey in a previous life, or perhaps Darwin was closer to the truth on my ancestry. I love bananas. And baked bananas, oh my, is there anything quite so decadent tasting without being chocolate?

I found the original recipe for this in an old magazine in the freebie bin at McKay’s. The picture was so beautifully mouth watering that we had to stop and get the ingredients on the way home from Chattanooga. We baked the tart up that very evening. I gotta tell you, I was disappointed. It looked lovely, but it was lifeless and dull. I wanted the tart I had imagined tasting when I drooled over the magazine. So, off to tweak it I went. This recipe is the result. I am happy with it. If you make it and/or tweak your own version, let me know what you think!

 

Carmel Banana Tart

3 tablespoon butter, melted

2/3 cup brown sugar dash of cinnamon

1/3 cup pecan halves

3 bananas, peeled and sliced

dash of fresh squeezed lemon juice (about a teaspoon)

1 thawed (30 minutes at room temp) puff pastry sheet (1/2 of a 17 oz box)

Preheat oven to 400 F. Melt butter in a 11×7 glass pan. Sprinkle brown sugar over melted butter, sprinkle with cinnamon, top with pecans, top with sliced banana, and sprinkle with lemon juice. Carefully unfold puff pastry and place on top of banana slices. Push gently from center, if needed, to cover. Push extra down around edges of pan. Bake at 400F for about 30-35 minutes until top is a golden brown. Allow to set a couple of minutes. Carefully loosen tart around edges and flip onto a serving platter. Serve warm. It would be good with a little vanilla ice cream if you wanted to go over the top.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment