True Blood Gran’s Creamy Pecan Pie

As a True Blood fan and a foodie living in the South, I am delighted at how often the show injects local food culture. In a very poignant moment of the show our heroine Sookie, after her beloved grandmother’s death, sits and grieves, eating half of a creamy pecan pie. It was the last food her gran had baked.

After viewing that episode, I searched and searched for a regional recipe that matched the unusual pecan pie. None of the pies I found were listed as ‘True Blood Pecan Pie’ looked at all like the one shown on True Blood. After a lot of searching and a bit of work and play in my kitchen, I believe I have come up with Gran’s Creamy Pecan Pie.

Keep in mind this pie is best after chilling and it didn’t last long enough with my clan to refrigerate it, so the picture shows it less firm that it would cold. Here it is~

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 cups half and half

2 Tablespoon butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

dash of cinnamon

1 large unbaked deep dish pie crust or two regular pie crusts

Mix first 5 ingredients. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and dash of cinnamon. Stir until smooth. Allow to cool slightly. Pour into deep dish pie crust (or use 2 regular pie crusts) and carefully arrange pecans on top. Bake at 425 for 10 minutes then reduce heat and bake at 350 for an additional 45 minutes. Serve chilled.

Best if eaten while remembering loved ones.

Share on Facebook

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to True Blood Gran’s Creamy Pecan Pie

  1. Sheer Chaos says:

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I’ve search high and low for this. Thank you!

  2. lisamays says:

    Glad I could help :). Enjoy!

  3. sam says:

    I just made this and it was delicious!! It also looks exactly like Gran’s pecan pie. 🙂

  4. Cecilia says:

    Since I don’t live in the states, I have to ask about the deep dish pie crust, could something like this work http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/perfect_pie_crust/ ? or do you know any recipe that would work better for sucess with my pie?
    Thank you sooo much for this recipe! I love that someone else needed to know more about that delicious looking pie 🙂

  5. Caryatid says:

    I made this for Thanksgiving this year (using mostly your recipe after scouring the internet for all the interpretations of Gran’s Pecans Pie, in the expectation I’d have to start from a blank drawing board and cobble them together) and it received RAVE reviews. After chilling overnight it did indeed set nicely.
    If you care to vary, I used a fair bit more than a dash of cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, a smidgen of pumpkin pie spice, and 20 or so ground cardamom seeds. The effect was delicious and I expect some version of the “Vampire Pie” will become a regular staple of our annual feast.

    This was only my second pie ever, and the first was an Indian-inspired chicken korma pot pie I invented, so I think I’m on an awesome roll of beginners’ luck!

  6. Vanessa says:

    So I got the mix to thicken and everything was looking good until I checked at 22 mins and the filling was pouring over. What am I doing wrong???

  7. Sara says:

    “2 1/2 cups half and half…” half a what? I really want to make this pie, but with one point missing in that list, I find it difficult ^^’

  8. Paul says:

    This pie turned exactly like I’d hoped: creamy, smooth and delectable. Ever since I saw the episode of True Blood with Gran’s pie, I’ve been longing for a creamy pecan pie (in contrast to the gelatinous filling we see in traditional pecan pies). This is the best pecan pie I’ve ever tasted – three cheers, hat’s off!
    One change I made was I used brown sugar instead of white and used three dashes of cinnamon instead of one. I’ll definitely make this again. Thank you for the great recipe!

  9. Miia says:

    I don’t know if you still work on this blog or not but… I have been searching for this recipe for ages and now I finally found it so thank you! I just have to try this as soon as I am better.
    I just have to ask, what is this 2 1/2 cups half and half? I live in finland and I’ve never heard of it, nor can I get it from our groceries. I am just wondering what it is and how to replace it? I tried using google, but got all sorts of results. Mixture of cream and milk?

    Thanks for this post and hopefully you will respond to me.
    Snowy greetings from Finland!

    xo

    • lisamays says:

      Hello Miia in Finland!

      Half and half is a milk and cream mixture that is around 10-12% fat. Light cream would be close in consistancy. You could mix it yourself using whole milk and cream and I think that would be close enough. In a pinch, you could use evaporated canned milk or cream. Hope this helps!

    • Vanessa says:

      Helloooo! Yea 1/2-1/2 is a combination of milk and cream 😛

  10. Miia says:

    Thanks! Will be trying this out next weekend so I can share it with my loved ones.

  11. Vanessa says:

    How long do I let the mix boil? I’ve made this pie several times, the taste is great! But I can never get it to thicken and set like in your photo, any ideas on what I’m doing wrong?

Leave a comment